Take A Chance on Me by Beth Garrod

Take a Chance on Me high resGenre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 426
Publisher: Scholastic
Source: Publisher
Format: Paperback
Rating: 4 stars
Goodreads
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Blurb:

The brand-new sunny, funny, feel-good rom com from bestselling Beth Garrod, perfect for fans of TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE and THE KISSING BOOTH.

Meg had a disastrous first kiss she would rather forget, but this is the summer she puts it behind her. This is the summer she has a perfect, swoony, just-like-in-the-movies kiss with a hot boy – and what better setting than the sun-drenched Greek island she’s holidaying on? But with three very different boys vying for her attention, this mission to reset her first kiss may be more complicated than she bargained for…

Try A Chapter | Review Copies Edition

So, one day I was just looking at my physical TBR the other day and it started overwhelming me with just how many books I have that I have not read yet. There are actually quite a few books on my TBR that I’m not sure if  I actually want to read. So I decided to do the Try A Chapter tag with some of them. I actually had quite a few so I’ve split them into three categories: review copies, fantasy and contemporary. This week’s tag is my review copies. These are all books I have received in the past for review but never actually got around to but I’m not sure if I actually want to read them so let’s get into trying them out.

img_3177.jpeg

No Big Deal by Bethany Rutter

35818725Genre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 320
Publisher: MyKindaBook
Source: Publisher
Format: Proof copy
Rating: 4 stars
Goodreads
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Blurb:

It’s not my body that’s holding me back. I think it’s more of a problem that people tell me my body should hold me back.’

Meet Emily Daly, a stylish, cute, intelligent and hilarious seventeen-year-old about to start her last year at school. Emily is also fat. She likes herself and her body. When she meets Joe at a house party, he instantly becomes The Crush of Her Life. Everything changes. At first he seems perfect. But as they spend more time together, doubts start to creep in.

With her mum trying new fad diets every week, and increasing pressure to change, Emily faces a constant battle to stay strong, be her true self and not change for anyone.

A warm, funny inspiring debut YA novel from Bethany Rutter: influencer, editor and a fierce UK voice in the debate around body positivity.

Why I Love Crazy Ex Girlfriend

It’s been a while since I talked about a TV show on my blog. To be perfectly honest, I lost my love for a lot of TV shows simply because I have no patience anymore to watch an episode every week and I prefer to just binge watch a whole season in one go. However, one show that stayed with me throughout is Crazy Ex Girlfriend, which is probably my favourite TV show of all time. In honour of it’s final ever episode, I thought I would talk about why I adore this show so much.

This Green and Pleasant Land by Ayisha Malik

36660586Genre: Adult Contemporary
Pages: 400
Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre
Source: Publisher
Format: Proof
Rating: 4 stars
Goodreads
Buy the Book: Amazon, The Book Depository, Waterstones
Blurb:

Accountant Bilal Hasham and his journalist wife, Mariam, plod along contentedly in the sleepy, chocolate box village they’ve lived in for eight years.

Then Bilal is summoned to his dying mother’s bedside in Birmingham. Sakeena Hasham is not long for this world but refuses to leave it until she ensures that her son remembers who he is: a Muslim, however much he tries to ignore it. She has a final request. Instead of whispering her prayers in her dying moments, she instructs Bilal to go home to his village, Babbels End, and build a mosque.

Mariam is horrified. The villagers are outraged. How can a grieving Bilal choose between honouring his beloved mum’s last wish and preserving everything held dear in the village he calls home?

But it turns out home means different things to different people.

Battle lines are drawn and this traditional little community becomes the colourful canvas on which the most current and fundamental questions of identity, friendship, family and togetherness are played out.

What makes us who we are, who do we want to be, and how far would we go to fight for it?

May Book Haul

This is something I haven’t done in a good while but I have been getting a lot of books in 2019. I’ve been buying a bunch as well as being sent quite a few. I’ve also started tracking my monthly book hauls in my bullet journal so I thought it would be a good idea to share it with you guys so you can see every book that I get in a month. A bunch of these I have already read so they are either in my May wrap up that went up a few days ago or I have full reviews up or coming soon.

IMG_3199

May Wrap Up

It’s the end of May and I can’t quite believe it. This month, I fully finished my second year of university and then fasted for most of the month. I also ended up reading quite a lot of books this month which I’m very happy about. I read a wide range and I even had a wide range of ratings this month so read on to find out more of my thoughts on them.

IMG_3206

My Bookmark Collection

I am a bookmark hoarder. I have got so many bookmarks from so many different places that I never get rid of. So I thought it would be interesting for me to showcase all of them to you guys in various different categories. Beware, I own a lot. Also, I’m really trying hard to learn how to take good photos with good lighting in my room but some of these photos may not be great because my room is just not designed to take photos in. Anyway. let’s jump into my insane hoard of bookmarks. My bookmarks are held in two separate mugs with my main ones being held in this Hamilton mug from Illumicrate.

IMG_3004

Alex in Wonderland by Simon James Green

44140770Genre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 400
Publisher: Scholastic
Source: Publisher
Format: Finished copy
Rating: 4 stars
Goodreads
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Blurb:

In the town of Newsands, painfully shy Alex is abandoned by his two best friends for the summer. But he unexpectedly lands a part-time job at Wonderland, a run-down amusement arcade on the seafront, where he gets to know the other teen misfits who work there. Alex starts to come out of his shell, and even starts to develop feelings for co-worker Ben… who, as Alex’s bad luck would have it, has a girlfriend.

Then as debtors close in on Wonderland and mysterious, threatening notes start to appear, Alex and his new friends take it on themselves to save their declining employer. But, like everything in Wonderland, nothing is quite what it seems…

Favourite Books By Asian Authors

In case you weren’t aware, May is Asian American Heritage Month so there are many Asian themed readalongs happening in May. I know it’s super late in May but I thought I would use this opportunity to mention some of my favourite books by Asian authors. I have quite a few to mention and I cut quite a few of them out as well because I have just read so many amazing books by Asian authors.

IMG_3098