Favourite UKYA Books

In case you weren’t aware, July is the month of YALC which is the UK’s biggest YA book convention and one of my favourite times of the year. I am actually attending the convention this year which I am excited about because I have only been once before and that was back in 2016. I thought in celebration of YALC, I would discuss my top favourite UKYA novels. There are a lot on this list. Like a lot. And that is after I removed quite a few from it as well. But that’s just how good UKYA is. Most of these you will probably be already aware of my love for these books but we are making it an official list.

2019 Statistics and Favourite Books #2| April – June

Another quarter of 2019 has gone which means we are officially halfway through the year. I have no idea where the time is going because it feels like yesterday that I was writing up my previous statistics wrap up. However, I’m back again with another one. My reading this quarter hasn’t been as great but I still managed to read 53 books in 3 months which I am thrilled about. Let’s go onto the stats for this month.

Try A Chapter | Contemporary Edition

So, one day I was just looking at my physical TBR the other day and it started overwhelming me with just how many books I have that I have not read yet. There are actually quite a few books on my TBR that I’m not sure if  I actually want to read. So I decided to do the Try A Chapter tag with some of them. I actually had quite a few so I’ve split them into three categories: review copies, fantasy and contemporary. This is the final post in this mini series and I will be trying a chapter of each of contemporary books that I’m not sure about. I do read a lot of contemporary so I’m more likely to keep these ones but let’s see how I feel about them after the first chapter of each.

img_3179.jpeg

Scars Like Wings by Erin Stewart

39353216Genre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 352
Publisher: Simon and Schuester UK
Source: Publisher
Format: Proof
Rating: 4 stars
Goodreads
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Blurb:

Before, I was a million things. Now I’m only one. The Burned Girl.

Ava Lee has lost everything there is to lose: Her parents. Her best friend. Her home. Even her face. She doesn’t need a mirror to know what she looks like–she can see her reflection in the eyes of everyone around her.

A year after the fire that destroyed her world, her aunt and uncle have decided she should go back to high school. Be “normal” again. Whatever that is. Ava knows better. There is no normal for someone like her. And forget making friends–no one wants to be seen with the Burned Girl, now or ever.

But when Ava meets a fellow survivor named Piper, she begins to feel like maybe she doesn’t have to face the nightmare alone. Sarcastic and blunt, Piper isn’t afraid to push Ava out of her comfort zone. Piper introduces Ava to Asad, a boy who loves theater just as much as she does, and slowly, Ava tries to create a life again. Yet Piper is fighting her own battle, and soon Ava must decide if she’s going to fade back into her scars . . . or let the people by her side help her fly.

June Book Haul

I got quite a few books this month, some of which I bought and some that I got sent for review. I am really enjoying doing book hauls on my blog again as I get to showcase some books more often, and it makes me feel good about the fact that I’ve read a lot of the books I am buying. Anyway, here’s my June book haul.

IMG_3345

June Wrap Up

This has been a really hectic month and therefore I haven’t read as much as I did in previous months. I still read 10 books which is great for my usual reading pace but not great in terms of my 2019 reading pace. I lost my desire to read a lot and I also got a job so I’ve been a lot busier and a lot more tired. I still managed to read 10 so let’s talk about those and some of the films that I watched.

IMG_3342

Try A Chapter | Fantasy Edition

So, one day I was just looking at my physical TBR the other day and it started overwhelming me with just how many books I have that I have not read yet. There are actually quite a few books on my TBR that I’m not sure if  I actually want to read. So I decided to do the Try A Chapter tag with some of them. I actually had quite a few so I’ve split them into three categories: review copies, fantasy and contemporary. This is the second post in the series where I will be picking up some of the fantasy books on my TBR that I am unsure about.

img_3185.jpeg

Take A Chance on Me by Beth Garrod

Take a Chance on Me high resGenre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 426
Publisher: Scholastic
Source: Publisher
Format: Paperback
Rating: 4 stars
Goodreads
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Blurb:

The brand-new sunny, funny, feel-good rom com from bestselling Beth Garrod, perfect for fans of TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE and THE KISSING BOOTH.

Meg had a disastrous first kiss she would rather forget, but this is the summer she puts it behind her. This is the summer she has a perfect, swoony, just-like-in-the-movies kiss with a hot boy – and what better setting than the sun-drenched Greek island she’s holidaying on? But with three very different boys vying for her attention, this mission to reset her first kiss may be more complicated than she bargained for…

Try A Chapter | Review Copies Edition

So, one day I was just looking at my physical TBR the other day and it started overwhelming me with just how many books I have that I have not read yet. There are actually quite a few books on my TBR that I’m not sure if  I actually want to read. So I decided to do the Try A Chapter tag with some of them. I actually had quite a few so I’ve split them into three categories: review copies, fantasy and contemporary. This week’s tag is my review copies. These are all books I have received in the past for review but never actually got around to but I’m not sure if I actually want to read them so let’s get into trying them out.

img_3177.jpeg

No Big Deal by Bethany Rutter

35818725Genre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 320
Publisher: MyKindaBook
Source: Publisher
Format: Proof copy
Rating: 4 stars
Goodreads
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Blurb:

It’s not my body that’s holding me back. I think it’s more of a problem that people tell me my body should hold me back.’

Meet Emily Daly, a stylish, cute, intelligent and hilarious seventeen-year-old about to start her last year at school. Emily is also fat. She likes herself and her body. When she meets Joe at a house party, he instantly becomes The Crush of Her Life. Everything changes. At first he seems perfect. But as they spend more time together, doubts start to creep in.

With her mum trying new fad diets every week, and increasing pressure to change, Emily faces a constant battle to stay strong, be her true self and not change for anyone.

A warm, funny inspiring debut YA novel from Bethany Rutter: influencer, editor and a fierce UK voice in the debate around body positivity.