Take A Chance on Me by Beth Garrod

Take a Chance on Me high resGenre: YA Contemporary
Pages: 426
Publisher: Scholastic
Source: Publisher
Format: Paperback
Rating: 4 stars
Goodreads
Buy the Book: Waterstones, Amazon, The Book Depository
Blurb:

The brand-new sunny, funny, feel-good rom com from bestselling Beth Garrod, perfect for fans of TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE and THE KISSING BOOTH.

Meg had a disastrous first kiss she would rather forget, but this is the summer she puts it behind her. This is the summer she has a perfect, swoony, just-like-in-the-movies kiss with a hot boy – and what better setting than the sun-drenched Greek island she’s holidaying on? But with three very different boys vying for her attention, this mission to reset her first kiss may be more complicated than she bargained for…

Review:

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review but this did not affect my opinion at all.

I have never read a Beth Garrod book before but she is a well known UKYA author who has a trademark writing style of funny, witty and awkward. When I read the blurb of this book, I knew that it would be a fantastic summer read because who doesn’t love to read beachy romances during the summer? (even if our current weather does not reflect this beachy vibe).

This book got the awkwardness spot on. It reminded me a lot of Simon James Green’s Noah series or the Geek Girl series by Holly Smale in terms of awkward moments and how the main protagonist herself acted. I will say that this book is definitely on the younger YA spectrum rather than older. The protagonist is 15 years old and I do think this book would be perfect for teens around the age 14.

The blurb implies that this book is heavy on the romance and it definitely was. All of the guys in the book were interesting but most of them weren’t developed enough. Aside from the guy she ends up with (no spoilers!), the others are very surface level and we don’t really get to see much about them, especially the one who likes her friend. It is a long book for a UKYA contemporary romance but I still feel like we could have done with a lot more development.

What I loved the most about this book was that it wasn’t just about the romance. Her family relationship was so interesting to read about as well as getting to see her best friend’s family life. I was never bored reading this book which is surprising because a lot of romance books have me skipping all of the extra bits just to get to the actual romance.

For me, the true love story in this book is the relationship between Megan and her best friend, Anita. Their friendship was so refreshing to read about and seeing how much they truly loved each other and how they would do anything for each other was so special.

Overall, I had a great time reading this book. It’s definitely not a favourite book of mine but it was such a fun read that I had to give it four stars. If you’re a fan of romance and Mamma Mia, definitely pick this book up.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s